Frequently Asked Questions


Find answers to common questions about CAS Trust.


The Charlton Athletic Supporters’ Trust formally launched on the 5th of December 2012 to mark the 20th anniversary of the Club’s return to the Valley from the exile years. Membership has always been £5 per year, with our Junior Membership being free. CAS Trust is committed to open, democratic and inclusiveness, as well as giving value for money to members.

Join Here!

The subscription for membership of Charlton Athletic Supporters Trust was set at £5 per annum when CAST was founded in December 2012 and has remained at that rate ever since. It equates to 10p per week.

The elected board determines how to spend and whether to spend funds in line with CAST’s aim to “protect, preserve and promote Charlton Athletic Football Club for this and future generations.”

Accounts are produced annually, made available to members and presented at the AGM.

In purely financial terms the destination of the annual £5 subscription is roughly split across three areas:

  • Administration and management including annual report, insurance, website maintenance and subscription services to enable weekly email communications and annual surveys: £2.10
  • Projects and events such as hosting Zoom Q&As with club ownership and staff, sponsoring away coach travel to a matches (in memory of Seb Lewis), sponsoring MODmag, supporting CAST Ticketbank (through which members can make nominations for match tickets for those otherwise unable to afford them) plus other ad hoc initiatives: £1.60
  • Fighting fund to ensure CAST maintains reserve funds sufficient to cover initial legal, financial and other professional advice should a genuine threat to the future of the club arise (as happened under ESI in 2020): £1.30

You can read more background and detail here:

Yes, there are over 30 supporters' trusts in the top two flights of the English League and many more below that.

  • Clubs include: Premier League - Arsenal, Fulham, Liverpool, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Tottenham.
  • EFL - Barnsley, Birmingham, Blackburn, Bristol City, Cardiff, Charlton, Derby, Leeds United, Leicester City, Huddersfield, Hull City, Millwall, Peterborough, Sheffield Wednesday, Watford.